GIRLS GOT JELLY: Jelly Shoe Revival

on the hunt blog - girls got jelly, jelly shoes

 

Following the demand for Jelly Sandals this season, Rushton Albett Ltd, the original Northampton manufacturer of the shoes have gone back into production.
It doesn’t surprise me. When I was little I begged for a pair but was met with a stern ‘No’ and stories about girls breaking their ankles and  haven worn them too often.
Instead, I was a given a pair of purple Kickers boots and when I stomped my foot in defiance for the very first time in those Kickers, something unexpected happened, destiny unfolded and my path was forever decided. I was to be a boot girl, and then a Doc’s girl – natural progression I guess.

Any dreams I had of tottering about the playground in lavender Jelly Shoes died the day I realised that jumping into puddles and coming out with dry socks was way more fun.

Still, when I walked in to a run down shoe store in the Northern Quarter a few years ago and found multiple pairs in lemon and pink and blue jumbled in a wire basket (and for a meagre £1!) you know I stopped to swoon. Let’s chalk it up to nostalgia. They are cute, and for a little while I reaally wanted them. It’s the same as how I secretly still love singing Aaron Carters ‘Crush On You around the house’. Takes me back.

So anyway, now they’re back and as popular as they were over a decade ago. Will I or won’t I? Well probably not, sad but true. I still love them and I still swoon (I swooned like an hour ago) But I’m also still holding out for some Diego Vanassibara brogues and Fendi feathered pumps and a girl can’t have everything she wants or else she’d be spoiled. Again, sad but true.

cc9f6e42821f341056da7ae54071042f59cc1efe5effeea772b3ae856ca31dc4jelly sandal shoesjelly shoe sandals

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under Fashion, Personal Style, Street Style, TREND, Womenswear

2 responses to “GIRLS GOT JELLY: Jelly Shoe Revival

  1. Pingback: Jumble Spoiler – 05/31/14 | Unclerave's Wordy Weblog

  2. Pingback: Jumble Spoiler – 05/02/14 | Unclerave's Wordy Weblog

Let us know what you think!

