ORIGINAL DIY: Hand Stamped Confetti Table Runner

DIY Hand Stamped Confetti Table Runner
I love setting a table for a party, whether it’s a dinner party, a garden party or just a table full of cakes. I’m obsessive about the layout and the flow of food and drink. In fact, I’m so obsessed that I’ve even been known to switch around the layout of tables at parties other than my own…on the sly. But I think a well set table can make or break the overall feel of an event, no matter how big or small. So this DIY will give you super simple base for a beautiful table, and depending on what you have in your cupboards could cost less than £1 to make!

 

DIY: Hand Stamped Confetti Table Runner

What You’ll Need:

  • A Cut of Fabric to fit the measurements of your table (I used a 50cm width of linen-look cotton costing 97p from my local haberdasher)
  • Paint (If you don’t have access to fabric paints acrylic mixed with a little water will be absolutely fine!)
  • 2 small Potatoes
  • A small Knife

Method:

1. Prepare your work space and mix your paints. I mixed my bright colours down to pastels to help tie in the colour scheme to my table.

Hand Stamped Confetti Table Runner #DIY

2. Cut your potato in half then cut in the shape at the center. A little slice around the outer of the potato – being careful to not cut into the shape in the center – should allow you to ease away the excess potato and leave your confetti shape standing in the middle.

Hand Stamped Confetti Table Runner #DIYIMG_1442

 

3. Start stamping! The only advice I’d give at the stage is not to be too precious. Stamping is so lovely because it gives a imperfect finish, it will never look like a highstreet buy, and your guests will appreciate the unique touch to your table.

IMG_1445

4. Give your confetti table runner some time to dry then when you’re satisfied iron it on a mid heat to secure the paint. I left the edges of the fabric raw but if you do want it look a little more finished fold under the edges and seam with a straight stitch to hold.

IMG_1519
DIY Hand Stamped Confetti Table Runner - Original DIY
DIY Hand Stamped Confetti Table Runner - Original DIY

I love the end look and for my first original DIY I don’t think it’s turned out too shabby! Let me know what you think and pleeeaase post pics of your Hand Stamped Confetti Table Runner to share!

 

Photos by Ashleigh

1 Comment

Filed under DIY, Home, Party

One response to “ORIGINAL DIY: Hand Stamped Confetti Table Runner

  1. Pingback: DIY Confetti Table Runner - "I Do" DIYs.com

Let us know what you think!

